Skip to main content



PACER is a Minnesota nonprofit, tax-exempt organization and a national parent center that provides information, training, and assistance to parents of children and young adults with all disabilities; physical, learning, cognitive, emotional, and health. Its mission is to improve and expand opportunities that enhance the quality of life for children and youth with disabilities and their families.


Paula Goldberg

Leading PACER Center is Paula F. Goldberg, the Executive Director. Paula co-founded PACER in 1976. PACER opened its first office in August 1978.

PACER maintains several boards and committees that support the mission and activities of the organization. The majority of PACER’s Board of Directors are parents of children with disabilities.

PACER Center Board of Directors 2019-2020

  • Alison Bakken
    Head of Strategic Resourcing, Thomson Reuters

    Jeff Betchwars
    CEO, Executive Management Services

    Lisa Elm
    Senior Director of Corporate Development, Winslow Capital

    Daniel Goldberg
    Litigation Counsel, Optum

    Kathy Graves
    Partner, Parenteau Graves

    John Guthmann
    Judge, Ramsey County, Minnesota

    Ginny Hopper

    Gwen Hopper
    Community Volunteer

    Jay Jackson
    Senior Counsel, Thrivent Financial

    Daniel Levinson
    New Product Development, United Health Group

    Ronald Lezama
    Co-Founder, Minnesota Latino Caucus

    Ruth Lowenthal
    Vice President Total Rewards, Xcel Energy

    Paul Luehr
    Partner, Faegre Drinker

    Jessica Mattson
    Early Learning Lead Coordinator, Mounds View Public Schools

    Don McNeil
    Attorney, Heley, Duncan & Melander, LLP

    Mark O’Leary
    Chief Marketing Officer, SPS Commerce

    Shannan Paul
    Public Speaker

    Ken Rosenblum, M.D.
    Owner, Co-Operative Plating Co.

    Sara Sagedahl
    Marketing Manager, Best Buy

    Elizabeth Simermeyer
    Executive Vice President Global Marketing and Communications, Ecolab

    Dorothy Slegman
    Former Speech Language Therapist

    Gene Stokoe
    Managing Partner, Verizon Wireless

    Abbie Wells-Herzog
    Autism Specialist, Vocational Rehabilitation Services